On Wednesday, September 6, 2023, Petal Robertson, NJEA Secretary/Treasurer, inducted new ECREA officers for 2023-2025 at the board meeting held at Bella Italia. Pictured from left to right: Petal Robertson, President Joe Macaluso, First Vice President Clarence Osborne, Second Vice President Perry Jackson, Recording Secretary Ilene Greenfield, Corresponding Secretary Carla Hinds. Missing from the picture is Treasurer Patty Landon.


Here are some members of ECREA attending the 2023 NEA Representative Assembly that was held in Orlando, Florida from July 1-July 6, 2023 with ECREA President Deborah Thurmond.


Thinking of retiring? Join ECREA

Remember to continue membership in your professional organization.

Please Call 609-599-4564, extension 4123 to request an application for "Unified" Membership in NEA,NJEA,ECREA and NJREA.

Your support is very important to help protect pension and health benefits.

Carol LaPierre & Nancy Kurbyweit, ECREA Membership Co-Chairs


2023 ECREA Scholarship Awardees

In May 2023, ECREA awarded three $1500 scholarships to Essex County graduates. Serena Bazilla, a graduate of East Orange Stem Academy, is going to the University of Southern California. Madison Carnahan, graduated from West Essex High School and will be attending the University of Alabama. Luis Luque, a graduate of Bloomfield High School will be attending Rutgers University.


Top Picture: (left-right) Luis Luque-a graduate of Bloomfield High School will be attending Rutgers University., Serena Bazillo-a graduate of East Orange Stem Academy, is going to the University of Southern California, Madison Carnahan-a graduate from West Essex High School and will be attending the University of Alabama.

Bottom Picture: (left-right) Perry Jackson, Madison Carnahan, Deborah Thurmond, Serena Bazillo, Luis Luque


The NJEA library in Trenton houses a number of journals dating back well over one hundred years.  Little evidence of the founding date of the ECREA (Essex County Retirees Education Association) was in any of the records.  What was apparent was the involvement of Essex County teachers in the state organization going back to the late 1800’s. If Essex educators were involved and influential, is it possible to conclude that once retired, these teachers might have founded an association of retired teachers?  ECEA records show that during the depression, Essex County educators experienced pay freezes and salary decreases.  By 1939 teachers organized and formed the ECEA (Essex County Education Association), but there is no corresponding record of retirees doing the same. 

Celebrating Years of Essex County Retirees Education Association Scholarships

Beginning in 2009, the ECREA instituted a scholarship award of $500.  From 2009 through 2014, the ECREA awarded one scholarship.  The following year, we awarded two scholarships.  Then in 2016, two scholarship recipients received an award of $1,000.  The following year, three students received $1,000 scholarships.  In 2018, we raised the award for four recipients to $1,500.  None of this would have been possible without the generosity of our members, who either mail in contributions or contribute via our fundraising efforts at three general membership meetings yearly.  Kudos to both the winners listed  and our generous members.

Here are the scholarship winners during the past ten years:


Keshon Lopes – Irvington H.S. – Drew University


Patrick Roche – Nutley H.S. – Princeton University


Jessica Brand – James Caldwell H.S. – Rutgers University


Shanelle Forde – Cecily Tyson Fine and Performing Arts School, East Orange


David Raghanian – Nutley H.S. – Stevens Institute of Technology


Aliya Jaber – West Orange H.S. – Simmons College


Aderwumi Aderbigbe – Newark Vocational High School

Morgan Reed – Montclair H.S.


Maymouna Abo Abar – Central H.S., Newark - Rowan University


Luce Daphhey Paul – East Orange STEM Academy – Rutgers

Deja Santana – Montclair H.S. – Drew University

Joseply Jaramillo – Technical High School, Newark – Bates College



Here are the scholarship winners during the past ten years:cont'd


Chantaly Villalona – Technology H.S., Newark

Aishwarya Kanagala – West Orange H.S.

Noah Roselli – Nutley H.S. – New Jersey Institute of Technology

Marlon Solomon – Cecily Tyson School of Fine and Performing Arts – Berkeley School of Music


Madelyn A. Chelak – James Caldwell H.S. – Temple University

Emmanuel Ogbonnaya – Weequahic H.S. – NJIT

Alyssa Amassalam – East Orange STEM Academy -  Rutgers, Newark

Precious George – American History H.S. – Rutgers University


Nephthalie Francois – East Orange STEM Academy – Lincoln Technical

Renata Curcio – Veropna H.S. – The College of New Jersey

Haley McNish – West Caldwell H.S. – University of Hartford

Christyne Corasmin – West Orange H.S. – Penn State College


Taylor Carnell – Nutley H.S. – College of Southern Idaho

Alisson Lopez Donado – Science Park H.S. – Rutgers, Newark

Edie Solomon – Livingston H.S. – GAP Year will attend Rutgers, New Brunswick

Shakythika Thevarajah – Technology H.S. – NJIT


Brad Yac-Diaz – East Orange STEM Academy- Stanford University

Amanda Franco – American History H.S.- Rutgers University- Newark 

Bryce Szalay – James Caldwell H.S.- Belmont University

Jennifer Fernando Sanchez – Technology H.S.- Rutgers University-Newark


Here are some of the members of ECREA with Madam NJEA Secretary-Treasurer Petal Robertson at the ECEA Legislative Dinner that was held on

Tuesday, April 5, 2022 at

Nanina's in the Park

On Wednesday, October 13, 2021 Members of the Essex County Retirees Education Association (ECREA) held their annual food drive and donated "Soup for Seniors" to the Holy Trinity-West Orange Food Pantry located at 315 Main Street.

West Orange Board of Education President Terry Trigg-Scales helped to coordinate the drive and dropped off the donations.